top of page

The Comics Industry Celebrates the 2019 Ringo Awards

Missed out on The Ringos this year? Not a problem. Baltimore Comic Con has provided highlights of the show's winners via their press release today! Check it out below...


BALTIMORE, MARYLAND - October 20, 2019 - Comic creative professionals, publishers, retailers, and fans came together Saturday night, October 19, 2019 to socialize, dine, and experience the comic book industry celebrating recognition of their peers, co-workers, and competitors at the 2019 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards.

This year's Ringo Awards was sponsored by Presenting Sponsors Cards, Comics & Collectibles and the Baltimore Comic-Con; Gold Sponsors BOOM! Studios, WEBTOON; and Silver Sponsors Fantastic Forum, Graphite, Source Point Press, and Valiant Entertainment. The banquet and awards ceremony honoring nominees and winners in professional and fan categories was hosted by the Baltimore Comic-Con and Cards, Comics & Collectibles.

The Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards is an annual celebration of the creativity, skill and fun of comics. The nomination ballot is determined by fans and pros alike.

A very special thanks go to the sponsors who donated items to the 2019 Ringo Awards Gift Bags, including Abrams ComicArts, Action Lab Entertainment, Archie Comic Publications, BOOM! Studios, Dark Horse Comics, Diamond Comic Distributors, Dynamite Entertainment, IDW Publishing, Lerner Publishing Group, New York Review Books, Source Point Press, TokyoPop, Valiant Entertainment, and WEBTOON.

Winners of the 2019 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards are:

Fan Favorites:

  • Favorite Hero: Toaster Dude

  • Favorite Villain: Lance Cordrey from Aberrant (Action Lab Entertainment)

  • Favorite New Series: Luff

  • Favorite New Talent: Enjelicious

  • Favorite Publisher: Dynamite Entertainment

Jury and Fan Winners:

  • Best Cover Artist: Fiona Staples

  • Best Series (tie): Black Hammer: Age of Doom, Dark Horse Comics and The Immortal Hulk, Marvel Comics

  • Best Letterer: Todd Klein

  • Best Colorist: Tamra Bonvillain

  • Best Humor Comic: MAD, DC Comics

  • Best Original Graphic Novel: My Heroes Have Always Been Junkies, Image Comics

  • Best Comic Strip or Panel: Nancy, Olivia Jaimes, Andrews McMeel Universal

  • Best Single Issue or Story: Swamp Thing Winter Special, DC Comics

  • Mike Wieringo Spirit Award: Isola, Image Comics

  • Best Anthology: Where We Live, A Benefit for the Survivors in Las Vegas, Image Comics

  • Best Non-fiction Comic Work: Where We Live, A Benefit for the Survivors in Las Vegas, Image Comics

  • Best Presentation in Design: Absolute Sandman Overture, DC Comics

  • Best Webcomic: The Nib (

  • Best Kids Comic or Graphic Novel: Punk Taco, Adam Wallenta Entertainment

  • Best Inker: Fiona Staples

  • Best Writer: Brian K. Vaughan

  • Best Artist or Penciller: Sean Phillips

  • Best Cartoonist (Writer/Artist): Terry Moore

Hero Initiative Awards:

  • Dick Giordano Humanitarian of the Year Award: Louise Simonson

  • Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award: Jose Luis Garcia-Lopez

In addition, the Baltimore Comic-Con would like to thank those individuals who presented at this year's award ceremony, including: Keynote speaker Bob Wayne; Paul McSpadden, Arely 'Arechan' Mancini and Dean Haspiel; Ross Richie and Filip Sablik; Fred Chamberlain; Shea Fontana and Brian K. Vaughan; Katie Cook and Afua Richardson; Walter Simonson; Mitch Gerads and Tom King; and Cully Hamner, Craig Rousseau, Mark Waid, and Matt Wieringo. We would also like to thank John Gallagher for his contributions to our program guide for the evening and awards ceremony presentation.


The fourth annual Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards taking place at the 21st annual Baltimore Comic-Con on October 24, 2020.

Follow Me on Twitter

Featured Posts
Recent Posts